Open Government Partnership – Australia

About the OGP

The Open Government Partnership (OGP) is a multilateral initiative and was launched in September 2011 by the United States President, Barack Obama, and the Brazilian President, Dilma Roussef.

The OPG was founded by eight countries – Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico, Norway, Philippines, South Africa, the United Kingdom and the United States. The eight founding OGP countries have been joined by a further 61 countries bringing the total to 69 participating countries.

The OGP aims to secure commitments from governments to promote transparency, increase civic participation, fight corruption, and harness new technologies to make government more open, effective, and accountable. The OGP also fosters new ways for citizens and governments to working together to solve common problems. In the spirit of multi-stakeholder collaboration, the OGP is overseen by a steering committee of governments and civil society organisations.

OGP member countries endorse Open Government Declarations and publish national OGP action plans with specific open government reform commitments.

The OGP agenda is broad and extends to disclosure of interests, public ethics, anti-corruption, service delivery, budgetary efficiency, public safety and corporate accountability. Further details are available on the OGP website,