OGP Australia logo

Open Government Forum

UPDATE - 18 December 2018 - Australia's second Open Government Forum has been announced following a nominations process for civil society members. 


The Open Government Forum is a group comprised of members from government and civil society that:

  • monitors and drives implementation of Open Government National Action Plan,

  • helps develop the next Open Government National Action, and

  • raises awareness about open government.

The current members, appointed until the submission of the next Open Government National Action Plan, expected in mid-2020, are:

Civil Society

  • Ms Fiona McLeod SC, Chair, Accountability Round Table (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Lyn Carson, Founding Director and Research Director, newDemocracy Foundation
  • Dr Ken Coghill, Adjunct Professor, Swinburne University
  • Mr Konrad de Kerloy, Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Mr Mitch Hillier, Executive Director, Law Firms Australia
  • Mr James Horton, CEO, Datanomics
  • Ms Serena Lillywhite, CEO, Transparency International
  • Ms May Miller-Dawkins, Researcher and Advocate
  • Mr Mark Zirnsak, Senior Social Justice Advocate, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, Uniting Church in Australia


  • Ms Stephanie Foster, Deputy Secretary, Governance, Prime Minister and Cabinet (Co-Chair)
  • Mr Peter Alexander, Chief Digital Officer, Digital Transformation Agency
  • Ms Sarah Chidgey, Deputy Secretary, Attorney-General’s Department
  • Ms Elizabeth Hampton, Deputy Commissioner, Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
  • Mr Jamie Fox, Indigenous Affairs Group, Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Deputy Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Mr Lembit Suur, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Finance
  • Ms Elizabeth Tydd, CEO, NSW Information and Privacy Commission
  • Ms Elizabeth Williamson, Division Head, The Treasury
The Forum generally meets every two months, in different capital cities, and conducts its other work electronically. The Open Government Forum agreed via email out of session to vary the Terms of Reference to allow an additional civil society and government member to be appointed to the Forum. This raises the total number of Open Government Forum members from 16 to 18. The most recent Terms of Reference reflecting this change are available here.
More information about the previous Government Forum can be found here
Papers and minutes from meetings of the Open Government Forum are available.
You can contact the Open Government Forum by sending an email to OGP@pmc.gov.au. The Open Government Forum invites inputs and representation from any civil society or other stakeholder, including questions regarding the National Action Plan process.