Open Government Partnership Australia
Home » Open Government Forum » Australia's First Open Government Forum

Australia's First Open Government Forum

About the previous Open Government Forum composition

Australia’s first Open Government Forum (the Forum) was established in July 2017 in accordance with commitment 5.1 of Australia's first Open Government National Action Plan. The Forum was responsible for:

  • Monitoring and driving implementation of the first Open Government National Action Plan.
  • Helping develop the second Open Government National Action.
  • Raising awareness about open government.

From July 2017 until December 2018, the Forum membership comprised of:

Civil society members

  • Ms Fiona McLeod SC, Former President, Law Council of Australia (Co-Chair)
  • Mr James Christian PSM, CEO, NSW Aboriginal Land Council
  • The Hon. Dr Ken Coghill, Deputy Chair and Treasurer, Accountability Round Table
  • Mr James Horton, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Datanomics Pty Ltd
  • Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Chief Executive Officer, Public Interest Advocacy Centre
  • Ms Serena Lillywhite, Chief Executive Officer, Transparency International Australia
  • Ms Katherine Szuminska, Co-Founder and Director, OpenAustralia Foundation
  • Mr Mark Zirnsak, Director, Social Justice Unit, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, Uniting Church in Australia

Government members

  • Mr Barry Sterland, Deputy Secretary, Prime Minister and Cabinet (Co-Chair)
  • Mr Peter Alexander, Chief Digital Officer, Digital Transformation Agency
  • Ms Sarah Chidgey, Deputy Secretary, Attorney-General’s Department
  • Ms Elizabeth Williamson, Division Head, The Treasury
  • Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Deputy Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
  • Dr Stein Helgeby, Deputy Secretary, Department of Finance
  • Ms Christine Johnston, Chief Information Governance Officer, National Archives of Australia
  • Ms Angelene Falk, A/g Australian Information Commissioner and Australian Privacy Commissioner

The NSW Information Commissioner, Ms Elizabeth Tydd was also be a non-voting jurisdictional member, reflecting the Commonwealth’s desire to build stronger relationships with the states on open government matters.

The way the Forum is appointed, structured and run was settled after public consultations held in April and May 2017. The Forum was established in July 2017, in accordance with commitment 5.1 of Australia's first Open Government National Action Plan. More information about the way Australia’s first Open Government Forum worked are available.

The Forum generally met every two months, in different capital cities, and conducted its other work electronically.

Papers and minutes from previous meetings of this Open Government Forum are available.

You can contact the Open Government Forum by sending an email to The Open Government Forum invites inputs and representation from any civil society or other stakeholder, including questions regarding the National Action Plan process.